Ronald Craft Guest Post

Today I have the pleasure of welcoming Ronald Craft to my little blog to talk about his Epic Fantasy Novel ‘Bound By Fire.’ Here he discusses how his unique novel was born. Grab a cuppa, sit back and enjoy xx

My novel, Bound by Fire, first came to me almost 10 years ago when I was in High School. At the time, I wrote a single chapter and then gave it to my English teacher to see what she thought of it. Like any English teacher would, she marked it up in red pen and then gave it back to me. However, when she gave it back to me she said, “I really liked it, but it was… dark.”

It was then that I realized what kind of author I was going to be. Some more years went by, and I continued to write, but nothing really solid came out of it, Then, in 2006, I had a brand new idea and started the novel up again. However, I ended up revising it quite a bit after running it past my critique group. I even changed the title because it had the word “Twilight” in it and I really didn’t want to be associated with sparkly vampires.

The actual world has a lot of Greek to it, in the sense that you’ll notice a lot of names are derivative of Greek words. I love the way names sound in Greek, and so I pieced together the names of people and some places from that ancient language. However, I really wanted my readers to be able to identify with my world and characters, so I’ve tried to make them as believe as possible. I want my readers to be able to identify with what’s happening, or with a location, while reading the story.

My novel is definitely on the dark side. There’s seven characters, each of them connected in some way, and there’s strong anti-hero elements throughout. Nobody is really out to save the world; they’re just forced into these situations either through greed, deceit, or simply because they had no other choice. No knights in shining armor will be prancing through my story, nor should you expect the good guy to always win. The first novel sets everything up, and book 2 (which is being written as of this moment and will be out mid-2012) is going to bring a huge twist to the story.

One of my goals with this story is to bring non-cliche fantasy to the table. The main character of the story is Ilian, a 17 year old blacksmith apprentice; but, he’s not your typical teenage fantasy character. He doesn’t have any real skills, he can’t fight well, and he doesn’t save the world. Some rather interesting things happen to him throughout the course of the story, and by the end of the third book things will have changed drastically for him.

Here’s a short blurb for book 1 of The Twin Flames trilogy, Bound by Fire, for your reading pleasure.

An ancient promise.
A forgotten treachery.
Seven souls, bound by fire, will begin their quest for the truth.

Ilian, an apprentice blacksmith, has the heart of a god sealed within him. When Karena, the beautiful red-haired assassin, kills his father and rips his soul from his body Ilian soon becomes entangled in a rivalry that has spanned over hundreds of years.

Right now, Bound by Fire is available in ebook format and paperback. You can find it on all the popular retail outlets (Amazon, Barnes and Noble, SmashWords, GoodReads, etc.). It should also be available in select outlets that ship overseas in the coming weeks, so make sure you keep an eye out for it. I blog regularly at my website, http://www.ronaldcraft.com. You’re welcome to drop by, read my posts, leave a comment, or send me an email. I’m very open to comments and feedback, so whether you love or hate the novel please feel free to share.

Thanks for having me, as well as taking the time to read the ramblings of a fantasy author. It’s been a pleasure being here.

Leave a Reply

