Interview with Lacie Nation

I am so excited to welcome Lacie Nation, Romance writer and  fellow Author at Secret cravings Publishers. She is here to tell us about her up coming book, ‘courageous Dare’

1. Hi Lacie. Thank you so much for stopping by my little blog. Sit down grab a cuppa.

Thanks so much for having me!

 2. Lacie, Your new book, Courageous Dare is out on the 5th December, we have the blurb but why don’t you tell us a little about the story, in your own words.

Well, Courageous Dare is a story about love, loss, and strength. Baylee decides to accept a dare to have sex with a stranger. Little does she know, this dare will change her life forever. The story also deals with the very real issue of losing a loved one to war. 

3. Where did you get the idea/ inspiration for this book?

 I was cooking dinner one night and suddenly I had two thoughts that literally slammed into my brain. One was the actual dare. The second, I won’t give it away because I want you to read the book…lol…but it’s in the epilogue and every time I read it I cry. 

4. You mostly write Romance. Is there another genre you like to write or would like to try your hand at?

LOL…I’m obsessed with vampires. I’m actually going to attempt to write a vampire story once the craziness getting Courageous Dare released has passed. I can tell you that I’m terrified to try it though. It’s so different from my norm.

 5. I saw in the information about you on your blog, that you like to write some of your friends/family personal quirks into your writing. (I do this too) How do you do this without maybe inadvertently insulting the respective people?

I honestly only write the best quirks about them. The way they love or how they handle stressful situations. This sounds crazy, but I tend to base the bad habits a character has on my own bad habits. LOL

 5. I also read that you are very close to your family. Do you feel that this influences your stories/ writing?

Absolutely! I could not have gotten to where I am in life without the love and support of my family. I’ve been through a lot in my life and they way my family loves is so deep and true that I want my readers to experience that. What better way to let them do that? Write a story with characters you want to turn to when you have a bad day.

 6. When a story strikes, how do you begin? Are you a plotter, or do you just start and See where the story takes you?

I am so not a plotter! I get an idea in my head and I run with it. I will have a general idea of where it’s going to go, but for the most part I write and let the story create it’s self.

 7. Do you have any other stories in the pipeline?

Hmm, well I always have ideas, but my next project will probably be a story called, Goodbye Agony. The idea of this story gives me the chills. I’ve been toying with the idea of a hero or heroine that has lost love to illness, and finds it again. I haven’t even started it yet, but I can tell you that it will be a tear jerker. Oh, wait, everything I write is a tear jerker. *shrugs* What can I say? I’m a sucker for an emotional read.

 8.  When you have time, what books/ which authors do you like to read?

Hmm, I have so many it would take me way more time then I’m sure we all have. I can say that I love the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. There are a couple of authors at my publishing company that I really enjoy as well; Daisy Dunn writes so really hot stuff. Mindi Ferrari also writes some pretty deep stories as well.

 9. What do you think is the secret to a good romance?

I think it has to make your toes curl, your heart pound, and it should rattle your soul. Love is one of those things that when done right it should leave you completely desperate for more. I know I personally don’t like a story where the hero and heroine break up or have to separate for whatever reason. When I write a couple, they are together for the remainder of the story. I believe in soul mates and forever and whether I write or read it, I want to feel it in my bones.

 10. And because it is the month of December and Christmas is just around the corner, What are you hoping for in your stocking this year?

Besides a nook tablet? I’d love it if people read Courageous Dare and felt the overwhelming need to hug their brother or sister or mother and father. This is one of those stories that makes you appreciate what and who you have in life today because you never know what could happen tomorrow.

 

A little treat for you all, AND believe me when I say – It’s a treat!

EXCERPT;

 Teeth hitting, tongues warring, and their breath mingling together, desperate and needy, she couldn’t stop it.

“I need to feel you,” he begged against her lips.

 She could have cried from the desperation thick in his voice. Wrapping her legs around his waist and pulling his hips into her, she clung to his body in every way she could. In less than four hours he’d be gone. She molded her body to his, keeping every sliver of skin she could connected to him. Wrapping her arms around his neck, she broke the kiss, and hid her face in the crook of his neck. She breathed him in, sun, mint, and the tiniest hint of cigarette smoke. She always hated the smell of smoke, but on him, mixed with the smell of mint and a scent inherently him, it was mouth-watering.

Their bodies moved together as one. Her hands roamed over his back, memorizing every muscle and curve of him. His forehead rested against hers, and she noticed moisture on his cheek, although she didn’t know if it came from her eyes or his.

Baylee pushed on his chest. When he moved back, she moved as well, shifting them, him sitting and her perched in his lap. With her legs around his waist, she writhed against him. She wanted to look into his eyes, fearing if she did, she’d never stop crying. His head rested on her shoulder as she whispered soft words of love in his ear.

When she had an orgasm, it rocked her soul, right down to the very core of her. Her body shook against his. She pulled back slightly, she wanted to see his face when she brought him to bliss. When she looked at him, she couldn’t stop the sob from leaving her. His eyes, bright all the time, shimmered. His chin quivered, but the look of absolute terror there in the depths of his gaze broke her.

“Nash…” She couldn’t say anything else, couldn’t speak past the emotion lodged in her throat.

“Baylee, please tell me you know how much I love you…please.”

She put her hands on both sides of his face, using her left thumb to wipe away the tear slipping from his eye.

“I know, Nash, I know it with everything inside. You love me.”

They still moved together, still worshiped the other’s body until his pace became erratic. When he came, he gripped her hips too tightly. She didn’t give a word of complaint. She held onto him, running her fingers through his hair, trying to hold him together with all the strength she had.

“I love you, baby girl. Don’t ever forget.”

“I love you too.”

Nash carried her to the shower where she washed his body, and he washed hers. She stopped crying, but it took all of her strength to do it. They finished showering, and she went to the kitchen to make breakfast while he finished getting ready. At a sound behind her, she turned and saw him standing there. She gasped and nearly fell down. Standing in the doorway in his combat uniform, her husband, the most amazing thing she had ever seen. She wanted to have her way with him. At the same time, she wanted to hide him away and never let him leave.

Baylee ran across the room and threw herself into his arms, unable to stop the flow of tears from falling. She tried hard to be strong for him, to be as calm as she could, knowing it’d be hard enough for him to leave. She couldn’t stand the thought of him being in a war zone, being in the blistering dessert, being shot at, or anything else along those lines.

“Promise me you will come back. Lie if you have to. Right now, I need you to say the words,” she begged against his neck.

She could feel him choking back his emotion. She could feel his pain radiating off of him in waves.

“I promise,” he whispered into her ear, as if unable to say anymore.

They ate breakfast, neither of them able to say much. Ethan, Jolie, and Jamie went with them on the silent drive to the airport. Once parked, Nash grabbed his duffle bag from the trunk of Jolie’s car, and they all walked inside.

Baylee wanted there to be a line, wanted it to be crowded to give her more time with him. Back to holding it all in, she fought to be strong for him. Her strength ebbed away with ever step they took towards security. Her grip of his hand must have been painful, but she couldn’t loosen it though.

She looked at her watch, seeing he had to go. Looking around, she noticed many of the people watching them, some with smiles and looks of understanding, while others wore looks of appreciation toward Nash. Being proud of him, proud to be his wife, didn’t make it easier to let go of his hand.

When they reached the security gates, she could go no further. The time had come where she would say goodbye to him. Not see him, touch him, or feel him for the next seven months. Baylee stopped, took a deep breath, and turned to face him.

He put his hands on her face looking deep into her eyes and spoke in a soft voice. “I’m coming home to you, baby girl. Seven months, we can do this.”

She nodded, wrapping her arms around his neck. When he hugged her, he stood up straight, lifting her feet from the ground. She wrapped her legs around him, not caring in the least who saw. She kissed his cheeks, both his eyes, and finally his lips, letting her tongue slip into his mouth. The kiss was heated and completely inappropriate for public. She didn’t care.

“I love you, Nash Jenson.”

“I love you too, Baylee Jenson,” he said with a smile.

If you want to buy a copy – CLICK here

http://store.secretcravingspublishing.com/index.php?main_page=book_info&cPath=15&products_id=183

12 thoughts on “Interview with Lacie Nation

  1. I loved your interview, so many of the things you said touched home. I don’t know if it is just me and you, or do we all write a little of ourselves into our books. Your book sounds great, and I will put it on my to read pile.
    I thought your excerpt was very well written.
    Well done Secret Cravings Publishing for such a great author!
    cheers
    Julie A. D’Arcy

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I write a little of me and a little of my friends and families into each of my stories. I think the most personal one I’ve written was So Beautifully Broken. That one was a rough one to write but I was so proud of it. Thanks for the support!

      Like

  2. OK, first of all, you are the sweetest girl ever!! Thanks for mentioning me in your interview!!! I’m glad you like my writing. Secondly. This book sounds amazing. I read your first book, So Beautifully Broken, and bawled my eyes out in a good way. If this book is anything like your first one, I’m going to need at least two boxes of kleenex!!! The excerpt sounds wonderful and the storyline titillating!! I can’t wait to read it!!!

    I wish you great success with this story and all your writing!!! On my TBR list for sure!!!

    BIG HUGS, my wonderful friend,

    Daisy Dunn

    Like

Leave a Reply

