Interview with Angela Stone

I am so excited to welcome Angela Stone to my blog. She is here to talk about her debut novel, Sometimes Its Fate. so I have put together a few questions so that we can understand a little about her story. Grab a cuppa, and enjoy!

BTW! How HOT is that cover?

Angela, I am so happy to have you visiting my little blog – Come in, come in – take a seat.
*plops herself down* Hello! Thanks for having me! I’m very excited to be here.  
1 Angela is here celebrating the release of her debut novel ‘Sometimes Its Fate’ I have posted a copy of the blurb at the beginning of the interview, but could you just tell us a little about the book – in your own words.

This books is all about finding meaning in the face of challenges and seemingly insurmountable tragedy. It’s about realising that life isn’t fair, but you have to make the most out of what hand you’ve been dealt.

2 I understand that you came by the idea from a real life event. Can you explain how exactly your story evolved and became your book?

Just after midnight on January 12th 2008 a fifteen passenger van carrying the Bathurst High School Basketball team, their coach, and his wife and daughter, lost control on Highway 8 just outside of Bathurst and slammed into an oncoming transport truck. Eight members of the Basketball team, (Javier Acevedo, Codey Branch, Nathan Cleland, Justin Cormier, Daniel Hains, Nick Kelly, and Nickolas Quinn) and the coach’s wife (Beth Lord) died that night and several others were seriously injured.

The Boys in Red Accident, as it came to be known, affected me very personally. I considered one of the boys killed in the accident to be a “little brother” and losing him was very difficult for me. I’ve always been a writer, from my turbulent pre-teen years, to my angry teenage ones, and transitioning into an adult I write to make my life my sense. I knew that I wanted to write about the accident. The first book/short story I wrote was from the POV of a new reporter who went from doing reports on cute dogs that *maybe* made the local news to being swamped with international attention from the accident. I liked it but I had to fictionalize too much of the accident so I never finished it.

 Sometimes It’s Fate was my second attempt at writing something about the accident. I like it because although linked it’s not a direct reference. I have great respect for the families of the victims and was very careful to respect them and their privacy when penning this novel. This novel is about the first-responders who were left to deal with the tragic aftermath of the accident.  I had the opportunity to talk with the Police, firefighters and EMT’s that responded to the accident and many of their thoughts and feelings are reflected in Jason and David.  I wanted to write about someone finding meaning in the accident and “Sometimes it’s Fate” is what eventually came out.

3 In the story, the issue of HIV is raised. Tell us what that was like to write. I know that you are a nurse, so did your job help in getting a good understanding of the issues involved?

Wow, writing about HIV is a very difficult topic. There are a lot of varied feelings about this, in the story Jason’s casual sex partner contracts HIV through unprotected sex. However HIV rates globally are much higher in African-American Women then in gay men. I choose to write about this topic because it affected me personally. A very good friend of mine, Mark, recently passed away after a 20+ year battle with HIV. I credit Mark with being one of my personal mentors and I miss him greatly. Another friend, Todd, died a few years very suddenly after he contracted the flu, he was HIV positive for about three years.  So many of the personal feelings surrounding and understandings are my own.

However the medical information is very accurate relating to testing and treatments of HIV. I did a lot of research into the information presented even being able to speak with a few people who had been newly diagnosed. Some of their words or feelings are reflected in the writing. So being a nurse for-sure helped me, but was not the only reason I wrote about it.

4 In the story. Two men, who are good friends realise that they harbour more than just ‘friendly feelings’ for one another. At what point does their relationship change?

Their relationship starts to change just after the accident. David goes from being a buddy partner to something more in the way he takes care of him. Jason is attracted to him, but hides it well until the snow storm where David discovers that Jason is gay which is where David starts to admit his feelings for Jason.

5 You cover a lot of big issues within one book – I am dying to read it.  What would you like people to think about when they finish your story?

I hope they are as in-love with Jason and David as I am. I also hope they come away with a more modern view of what living with HIV is like.

6 The story and its happenings all hinge on the theory that everything happens for a reason. Do you believe this within your own life?

I really do, some people call it fate, some people call it prayer, some people believe it’s karma, but I’ve been in situations where if everything didn’t happen exactly when it did then there would been so many drastic consequences.

Just the other day I had someone brought into my life when I needed to meet her the most. Any other day I might have written her off, but I needed to meet her in that very moment, so I think fate had something to do with that.
7 If you could explain ‘Sometimes its Fate’ in three words, what would they be?

Everything happens [ for a] reason. (That was close enough to three words right?)

8 Now we have heard about your book, tell us about you. And if you have any other books in the pipelines that we can look forward to.

About me? Well I’m a twenty-something nurse living in Ottawa Canada. I grew up around cops, my best friend is an RCMP officer, my other best friend is a 911 dispatcher. I write about cops because there is something that fascinates me about them, their personalities and their struggles.

As for other books. I *just* finished the follow up to “Sometimes It’s Fate” called “Boots on the Ground”. I’m currently in the editing process before I send out for submission! Hopefully my publisher wants another story about Jason and David! I’ve also finished a novel titled “Duty, Honour, Love” that I’m currently subbing.  My next project is a Christmas novel and the follow up to “Duty Honour Love” currently titled “Duty, Love, Sacrifice”. So yes I am a very busy bee!!
9 What authors do you enjoy to read?
My favourite Authors are Kathy Reichs and Diana Gabaldon but I will read just about anything I can get my hands on :)!
10 If you were stranded on an island – what two things would you want with you?
Besides a satellite phone to call for help? Probably a cute man and an unlimited supply of adult beverages.

Blurb

Jason McCarthy is gay. He’s also a police officer living in a small-minded northern New Brunswick town where being gay could spell the end of his career. When an impending snowstorm threatens to strand his best friend and policing partner, David, Jason offers up his spare room for the night–a move that reveals Jason’s secret, and changes their friendship and lives forever.

David Richard isn’t gay–at least he doesn’t think he is. He knows he loves his best friend, and he admits to feelings that had started after a tragic accident almost a year before. When David acts on these feelings, it doesn’t go well, leaving both men alone and hurt. Jason, however, doesn’t think twice about stepping in and rescuing David’s children when their mother abandons them. The move brings David and Jason back together, but Jason’s past rears its ugly head and they both have to make difficult decisions that are sometimes best left up to fate.

Thank you so much Angela! If you want to but her book click here http://phaze.com/book.php?title=Sometimes+It’s+Fate  I for one, Cant wait to read it!

One thought on “Interview with Angela Stone

Leave a Reply

