>Interview with Jesi Lea Ryan

>I am so happy to welcome Jesi Lea Ryan to my little blog. Her debut novel ‘Four Thousand Miles’ is available on Amazon right now.  I asked her over for a little chat so that you lovlies can read all about her and her wonderful book.
She has also agreed to give one copy of her book to a lucky person who leaves a comment and gives an answer to her question; ‘If you were going to run away, where would you go?’ The question fits very nicely with the story and I cant wait for your answers. The winner will be chosen by Jesi.

1. Hi Jesi! So glad you could be here. So, First of all, tell us a little about yourself.


I am a 35 year old, author living in Madison, Wisconsin. My debut novel, Four Thousand Miles, was released last October. (http://tiny.cc/t861s ) I finished my second novel, a young adult paranormal, and will begin the process of selling it soon. When not writing, I take graduate school classes (working on my Masters of Business Administration) and spend time with my husband. I am also an obsessive reader! I finish an average of three novels a week. For most of them, I blog reviews at http://diaryofabibliophile-jesilea.blogspot.com/.

Other than that, I treat my cats as if they are my children, I spend too much time on twitter, and I would go to school forever if I could afford it. 

2. Tell us a little about your debut novel ‘Four Thousand Miles’

The official book blurb is:

When Natalie Spencer loses both her career and marriage in the same morning, the emotional shock sends her on a spontaneous journey to England. There, she is nearly mugged in a Tube station, but an introverted songwriter named Gavin Ashby scares off her attackers. Recognizing Natalie’s fragile state, Gavin offers help and invites her to recuperate from her trauma at his country home. As she adjusts to her new role and surroundings, Natalie finds healing by helping others.

Gavin and his family begin to accept Natalie into their hearts, leading her to a choice…abandon her old life in the States and trust in a new chance at love, or flee once again?

3. Where did you get the inspiration for the book?
I visited the U.K. a couple of years ago and fell in love with the place. I would move there in a heartbeat if I could afford it! Anyway, my husband and I were staying at Elvey Farm in Kent, which is a medieval farm turned into a bed and breakfast. It was the most relaxing and beautiful place I’ve ever been! I didn’t want to go home. I kept thinking that it would be great if we could just abandon our life in the States, get jobs and stay in Kent forever. Obviously, that plan isn’t practical in the real world, but I could make one of my characters do it. That is where the idea for Four Thousand Miles was born.

4. Are you working on anything else at the moment?
Yes. I just finished a young adult paranormal novel that I’m really excited about. If it gets picked up, it will be the first in a trilogy. Other than that, I have several partial novels that I work on as the mood strikes me. Those are mostly contemporary romance. Not sure if any of them will ever see the light of day, but they are fun to play with.

5. What kind of books – which authors do you like to read?
For years I read nothing but literary fiction and classics. I still love those books, but a couple of years ago I began reading more genre fiction—urban fantasy, sci-fi, romance, steampunk, etc. I also read a lot of young adult literature.
I have many favourite authors, so this question is always hard for me. I am in literary love with Richelle Mead! I get so invested in her characters that they are hard for me to shake off when the book is finished. I guess it doesn’t help that she also leaves her series novels off with massive cliffhangers! She is one author that I have to pre-order all of her books. Some of my other favourite authors are Oscar Wilde, Kurt Vonnegut, Suzanne Collins, J.R. Ward, Cassandra Clare and Jane Austen. That is a wide range, but then my taste in books varies with my mood.

6. Tell us your idea of a perfect Hero – I spotted the sexy Angel on your blog and I have to say, he fits my description perfectly.
Ha! The sexy angel is nice, but I don’t know about the wings. My favourite hero in a book ever is Seth from Richelle Mead’s Georgina Kincaid series. I find intelligence incredibly attractive, and Seth, a writer, is the ultimate sexy nerd! Seriously though, there needs to be more to the hero that rock hard abs and weapons training. He has to have interests and personality and flaws. Those are the things that make the character real and interesting. Oh, and he must have a British accent! Yum!

7. Now for the’ have to ask’ question. What two things would you take to a dessert island? 😉 Intellectual – I know.
Robert Pattinson and a Nook Color, fully loaded with books! I think I could say there perfectly happy for a very long time.

8. And what two things could you live without? Me? It would have to be smelly cheese and spiders *Shudders*
I could live with never having to work a day job ever again. It would be cool to make enough money writing that I could live off of. I also have an irrational fear of centipedes. Just thinking of them sends chills up my spine!

Thank you so much for popping by! I loved having you here.
To pick up a copy of ‘Four Thousand Miles’ Go to http://www.amazon.com/Four-Thousand-Miles-ebook/dp/B00529VU8A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1309843871&sr=8-1

9 thoughts on “>Interview with Jesi Lea Ryan

  1. >Great interview ladies!If I were to run away, I guess I'd go back to New Orleans. Sit by the river, listen to some jazz, have a cocktail (or three)… Hmm, running away suddenly sounds like a really good idea!

    Like

  2. >Wonderful to "meet" you, Jesi! Your book sounds great! If I could run anyplace, it would be to the Welsh coast, or to Salzburg, Austria. I've visited both, and felt the exact same way you did in Kent. I never wanted to go home – or, rather, I wanted to move my home there. Wales is so beautiful, and so green, and Salzburg is so starkly beautiful — and in both places the people were so nice. I'd love to work in a shop, maybe a coffee shop, and raise my son and cats there. And grow flowers. (I live in Alaska.)

    Like

    • I have also been to Wales and found it amazing! The people were very friendly as well. My husband has been to Salzberg and loved it. I have been to Alaska once, Ketchikan, and while it was beautiful, I can’t imagine living there year round. I don’t handle cold very well. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

