>Crisis of confidence

>

Am I blocking my own writing.

I am having a total crisis when it comes to my writing. Since Christmas I have found that the ideas I have wont form. I cant seem to settle down to writing without getting frustrated or cross. It is really beginning to worry me now and I honestly don’t know what to do.

I don’t think that it is ‘writers block’ I really don’t. I think that I am sitting down at the computer with the wrong attitude but I don’t know how to change it.
I still get that burning need to write, I still get inspiration in the middle of the day or when I am at the park with the kids, so its not the lack of drive or ideas. Its just that every time I sit down and write. It just isn’t good enough, I am never happy with it.

My writing just seems to be missing something. I took a knock back, that was actually pretty tame, I took it quite badly and since then I don’t think that I have bounced back.
I know that being a writer,  I should learn to take the good with the bad. And usually, I am cool with that. But for some reason, that one hurt.
How do I get it back?
Can anyone offer me some help?

5 thoughts on “>Crisis of confidence

  1. >I just recently went through this and I know it won't be the last time, 'cause it wasn't the first. I'm of two minds about it on how to handle/cope: 1) There's nothing wrong with letting yourself suck. Once you release yourself from the 'My writing has to be perfect from the get go' it usually helps clear away things. Anything can be fixed, but just getting something–anything–down helps.2) There's also nothing wrong with taking a step back and taking a few deeps breaths to refocus yourself. I felt as if I *had* to write or I sucked as a writer. If I wasn't writing, I wasn't really a writer. Not the case. Sometimes you have to remove yourself completely from writing in order to find your 'writer's brain' again.Also, do you write on a computer 100% of the time. I find that stepping away from it and putting pen to real honest-to-God paper helps immensely.

    Like

  2. >@ Sara. Thank you. I completely agree with the 'need to write to prove myself as a writer' this is exactly how i feel. And I wonder if i will always feel like this? But I also agree that I have to take some time away from it to feel fresh. I think that will ultimately keep me in love with writing, instead of making it a chore. I dont suppose it helps that I am in the middle of emigrating, my mind is always on a thousand things. Maybe when that all settles down ill be able to write freely again. ;-)@Susan Thank you susan, That really means alot from you. I really apreciate your opinion on my work and I hope to see more of yours xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

